What Am I Getting Myself Into?

Apologies in advance, this is going to be a text-heavy post…

I alluded to this in my previous post, but changes are right around the corner for myself, Marty and perhaps most especially Lucy. Remember over Christmas break I turned down an opportunity to adopt a bulldog? No, we’re not adopting a bulldog (or any other dog for that matter). We’re going to foster a bulldog!

I know, I know, what am I thinking? I start grad classes (online) on Jan. 22, Marty and I both work weekends and we have a 10-month old puppy at home! Well, I volunteer with a rescue organization called S.N.O.R.T. However, because of where I live – the middle of nowhere – I get very few opportunities to help out in any meaningful way. However, late last week I got an email saying that there are two female bulldogs being rescued from an Amish puppy mill in Lancaster, Pa., less than 90 minutes from Selinsgrove.

Long story short, we got an emergency home visit to make sure we were approved to foster and this Saturday (yikes!) I will be picking up one of the foster dogs. To say I’m nervous would be an understatement. Nothing is known about this dog, except that it’s a six-year old female bulldog. They don’t know her health, what she looks like, what the conditions she was living in were like…nothing. I’m nervous for the dog – will she like living with people? I’m nervous for Lucy – will Lucy get jealous? (yes, I realize Lucy is not a person but still, she could get jealous, right??). I’m nervous that this dog will be a bigger project than I’m anticipating.

However, after doing research and seeing pictures like this:

(source)

And this…

(source)

And reading articles like this, I couldn’t say no. My hope is that we can make this dog adoptable relatively quickly. Get her spayed, fix up any lingering health issues, socialize her and make her a sweet, adorable, squishy bulldog that anyone (except me!) will want to adopt.

Everyone – including my chiropractor! – is betting that I will wind up keeping the dog. I do not plan on that for the reasons outlined in this post. I simply don’t need two dogs permanently. But I do think I need to help out a dog that needs saving if I’m capable of doing so and I think I am. Time will tell!

More updates this weekend after I pick up the dog. Speaking of which, she probably won’t have a name – suggestions are welcome!

Leave a Reply

