If You Could Only Save One Thing, What Would it Be?

Did anyone else used to ask the question, “if your house was burning down and you could only save one thing, what would it be?” A really morbid question, now that I think about it, but enlightening nonetheless.

Well, last night Lucy answered all on her own what she’d save if our apartment burned down. Or got covered in three-plus inches of snow in the middle of March!

Lucy loves snow. I do not.

Lucy loves snow. I do not.

The snow here in Central PA started around 3 p.m. yesterday afternoon. That evening, after letting Lucy out after work to do her business and feeding her dinner, she still wouldn’t leave me alone. She was climbing on the sofa, standing on my chest, batting me with her paw and generally making it impossible to ignore her. Clearly she wanted to go out, so we did.

And do you want to know the one and only thing she did while she was out there? You guessed it, rescue her stick from the snow and bring it onto the porch.

One of Lucy's favorite sticks

One of Lucy’s favorite sticks

She literally hopped off the porch, picked up her beloved stick, plopped it on the porch and asked to go back inside.

I got the message Lucy, loud and clear. Sticks should be never be buried in the snow.

P.S. – So what is one thing you’d save if your house was burning down? I guess I’d have to go with my phone, as superficial as that seems. It has pictures, contact numbers, email and games. What more could I need?? If I wanted to take the harder route and pick something else, I guess I’d go with my box of letters, cards and notes I’ve saved over the years.

2 thoughts on “If You Could Only Save One Thing, What Would it Be?

  1. Cindy is great! Enjoying her last week of “freedom” before heartworm injections start next Tuesday. Just doing her usual – sleeping, snuggling, sleeping and more snuggling 🙂

Leave a Reply

