Cindy Forgoes Healthy Eating

I don’t quite remember why exactly, but growing up we fed our lab, Samantha, carrots as her treats instead of biscuits. That dog had more energy than she knew what to do with any my mom took her for FOUR walks every single day but I vaguely remembering the vet saying something about watching Samantha’s weight and I guess ever since then she got carrots.

Well, Lucy is like Samantha – she will eat anything you call a “treat” and because bulldogs are prone to being, well, fat, I tried to see if Lucy would eat carrots.

One of Lucy's carrot pieces. Notice the lip-licking already occurring.

One of Lucy’s carrot pieces. Notice the lip-licking already occurring.

I often make some sort of tuna salad every few weeks and chop up carrots for the salad so she’s used to the routine. I chop carrots and she waits until I “release” her to get the carrot.

She's so good at waiting until I tell her to eat the treat. (note the circled carrot piece). Puppy class paid off!

She’s so good at waiting until I tell her to eat the treat. (note the circled carrot piece). Puppy class paid off!

Cindy is like velcro so if I’m in the kitchen for more than three minutes, she comes in to inspect what I’m doing. Several times I tried feeding her a piece of carrot like I do for Lucy. I finally caught her reaction on camera.

Placing the carrot literally in her mouth for her.

Placing the carrot literally in her mouth for her.

Testing the waters…

"I'm not sure if I like this carrot thing, Mom..."

“I’m not sure if I like this carrot thing, Mom…”

And then we finally come to the end of our experiment.

The landing place for the carrot piece

The landing place for the carrot piece

Cindy spits that carrot back out like a dart. Kind of like this clip (skip to 1:35 mark).

Leave a Reply

