We Love the Vet

Based on the amount of time and money we spend at the vet, I should buy stock in our vet’s office. Today I was back at the vet, this time with Lucy.

I’d say within a couple months after bringing her home we noticed she had a propensity to lick, bite and eat her paws. Annoying, yes. Problematic? Well, months ago I turned to the vet to answer that and it was confirmed she had a yeast infection going on.

So, since then I wipe her paws and wrinkles at least every other day with our anti-fungal rinse. The past few weeks, however, it seemed I was fighting a losing battle with her licking and biting, so back to the vet we went for the second time in two-plus months.

Laughing at the amount of money I was about to fork over.

Laughing at the amount of money I was about to fork over.

Inspecting the food supply in the lobby.

Inspecting the food supply in the lobby.

As usual, she was a handful in the waiting room. I swear it feels as if my shoulders are about to come out of their sockets while we wait – she goes up to every dog and every person multiple times and as expected at a vet’s office, we always have a bit of a wait so by the time we get called back I’m sore and sweating.

Finally in the exam room.

Finally in the exam room.

Listening to all the interesting sounds in the lobby.

Listening to all the interesting sounds in the lobby.

Ultimately Lucy has some sort of allergy – to what we don’t know as she bites and licks her feet year-round, not just during “allergy season.” So we have to wipe her feet with baby wipes every single time she comes inside and I have to start giving her fish oil supplements – I take fish oil supplements! If the fish oil doesn’t work it’s on to an allergy medicine like Claritin.

I was able to pick up eye drops for Cindy while we there, so I was able to kill two birds with one (very expensive stone). And just because she’s adorable, here’s a photo of Cindy lounging to the max.

She's an excellent lounger.

She’s an excellent lounger.

Fortunately Lucy loves the vet – so much attention! – and our vet’s office is great, from the techs to the doctors, and it tires Lucy out, so it’s a win-win for everyone!