She’s Gone

This afternoon Marty and I dropped Cindy off at her “furever” home.

Cindy's new parents (cropped out their faces for privacy in case they didn't want their faces plastered on the internet!)

Cindy’s new parents (cropped out their faces for privacy in case they didn’t want their faces plastered on the internet!)

Because the last two adoptions fell through I didn’t say much leading up to today. However, this home truly is her perfect home. This family has two other dogs – a male English bully and a male chocolate lab – and all of their dogs have been rescue dogs, including many bulldogs (even a mill momma like Cindy).

Here was Cindy on her last night with us:

IMG_0445

And this morning Cindy and Lucy got in some final “snuggles” (in quotes because Cindy promptly hopped off the couch seconds after I snapped this):

IMG_0450

Marty drove back early this morning from spending the week on vacation with his family and made the two-hour drive with me, which was appreciated more than I can say. I would have been fine on my own, but it helped a lot to have him with me.

Cindy’s new family was so happy to welcome her into their home, as were her fur brothers! Cindy was a bit uncertain about the whole thing but I could tell she adored her new parents (as you can see in the picture). I think it will take a while for Cindy to get used to two new dogs; it took nearly two months for us to feel comfortable keeping Cindy and Lucy in the same room when we weren’t home, but she did indeed get used to Lucy and the two have gotten along very well for the past few months.

Her new family has a large basket of toys and just like the past six months we’ve had her, she had no idea what to do with the toys but she did know she wanted to stand in the toy basket!

"I'm supposed to play with the toys, not stand on them?"

“I’m supposed to play with the toys, not stand on them?”

As usual all she really wanted was a spot to lay down and relax and she will have plenty of places to do that in her new home.

We brought "her" pillow with her so she had something from our home.

We brought “her” pillow with her so she had something from our home.

She followed Marty and me to the door and I’m not going to lie – I was close to losing it when she did that, but I held it together until we got back in the car and started to drive away. And then I lost it.

There’s lots more to say about this whole experience – how hard it actually was, how Lucy’s reacted, whether we’d do it again, etc. But that’s for later. Tonight is the definition of bittersweet for me; I am so happy Cindy found a home that really, really wanted her but I am also really, really sad that she’s no longer here with us. Six months is a significant amount of time to have a dog and Cindy truly became a part of our home. It’s going to take a little while to adjust to life without Cindy, although it certainly helps that she’s found such a wonderful family.

5 thoughts on “She’s Gone

  1. First time commenter here but I have loved reading your blog and your love for both Cindy and Lucy. Praying for you as you make this transition. You is a good job but it is a loss and it should be acknowledged as such. That was your baby too, even though it was just temporary.

  2. Pingback: An Update of the Very Best Kind | Lucy the English Bulldog

Leave a Reply

