What’s Next?

We’re going on our second full day without Cindy and things are a bit gloomy around here.

Sad Lucy

Sad Lucy

I think I’ve dealt with things reasonably well (even Marty agreed) although nighttime is the worst – that’s when I miss her most because I let myself truly think about her; Thursday night I cried myself to sleep. But the updates I’ve gotten so far have been great ones; Cindy has really found her perfect home which makes this process a million times easier. She deserves her wonderful new home!

It will take a few more days to determine how Lucy’s adjusted to the loss of Cindy and that will deserve its own post down the road.

So, the logical question is what are we going to do next? For now, we’re going to hold off on fostering for the immediate future. Come late August, my Saturdays are pretty much entirely devoted to football (and all the other fall sports!) and Marty’s cross country teams compete entirely on the road – no home meets at all – which means that we’re out of the house all freaking day on Saturdays. We get someone to watch Lucy but with a foster dog, you often just don’t know what you’re going to get; it could be a dog that doesn’t respond well to strangers, needs some sort of special medical attention, etc.

Do I (we) want to foster again? I think I do; it was beyond hard to see Cindy leave, but it was such a rewarding six months. More rewarding than I ever expected it to be.

How could you not fall in love with this face??

How could you not fall in love with this face??

We also happen to (unfortunately) live close to Amish and Mennonite puppy mills, which means there will likely always be a Cindy that needs saving in addition to all the non-puppy mill dogs S.N.O.R.T. takes in who need foster homes. However, we also had Cindy for longer than we thought and we developed such an emotional attachment after six months; it’s emotionally draining to say good-bye when you form that kind of attachment.

So to answer the question, what’s next is nothing for a little while. I’ll obviously continue volunteering with S.N.O.R.T.; I write some of the adoption bios, help with transports when I can, etc. I also know that in the future I’m going to have a very hard time not taking in another dog that needs saving but we’ll cross that bridge when we get to it!

One thought on “What’s Next?

  1. Pingback: I’m a Liar | Lucy the English Bulldog

Leave a Reply

