Dog Days, Take II

Snowy has made so much progress over the past two weeks. Probably partly because she had already been in two foster homes before she came here, Snowy was definitely a scared and tense dog when we got her. It took her well over a week to feel 100% comfortable around Marty and loud noises did – and still do – scare her from time to time.

However, she really is almost like a different dog. She literally hops around the living room in the morning while I get ready to take her and Lucy out; she even gets so excited she’ll stand on her hind legs and hop around. Pretty impressive, actually!

Because of all the progress she’s made in the past two weeks, I thought I’d try taking her to Dog Days on our campus. I knew I was taking a bit of a chance, but lately when I take Lucy out alone, Snowy has started barking; clearly she hates being left out of the action so I thought I’d give it a go. At the very least I’d get an idea of what kind of environments she would (or wouldn’t) do well in.

A co-worker agreed to come with me so I wouldn’t have to wrangle two dogs and we had so much fun!

Looking for food. And pets.

Looking for food. And pets.

Clearly starved for attention

Clearly starved for attention

Snowy did such a good job. She wasn’t scared or nervous. She spent the half hour or so that we were there walking around, meeting other doggies and getting lots of attention.

I don't think it's possible to be any happier

I don’t think it’s possible to be any happier

And as usual, Lucy spent the entire time obsessed with her water bottle.

IMG_0636

While the point of Dog Days is to alleviate homesickness for students, today also served as a mini-test for Snowy to see how she’d do in a semi-loud, chaotic environment with both dogs, adults and children. And she did so, so well. I was unbelievably proud of her.

After dog days we walked over to say hi to Marty and his team as they finished up practice. I could tell Snowy was fading fast but she was a trooper and said hi to everyone.

After we got home and the doggies got fed, this was the aftermath:

She may not wake up until tomorrow morning!

She may not wake up until tomorrow morning!

Not only did we have fun today, but I feel very confident that Snowy will thrive in almost any environment when she finds her forever home down the road!

One thought on “Dog Days, Take II

Leave a Reply

