Some Updates

First and foremost, Snowy is scheduled for surgery this Thursday. S.N.O.R.T. found a vet in State College who can do Snowy’s surgeries and had an opening for this Thursday – talk about a quick turnaround!

I’ve never been to this surgeon before but he has worked on at least one other S.N.O.R.T. dog and comes highly recommended. We’re hoping that Snowy will be able to get both eye surgeries (entropian and distichia if needed) as well as her spay. As with any dog but especially bulldogs, most surgeons don’t commit to definitively doing all surgeries at one time. It really depends on how well a dog tolerates anesthesia and with short nosed dogs like bullies, anesthesia is always tricky. Lucy had four surgeries done at once (cherry eye surgery, nares surgery, elongated soft palette surgery and spay surgery) so let’s hope Snowy has similar success!

A cone-headed Lucy recovering from surgeries

A cone-headed Lucy recovering from surgeries

I’ll be dropping Snowy off (and meeting with the surgeon) very early Thursday morning. I did not speak to the surgeon when I scheduled the surgeries but the receptionist said they usually aim to have the dogs return home the day of surgery so I’m crossing my fingers I can pick Snowy up on Thursday afternoon/evening.

Obviously I’m a nervous wreck so I already can’t wait to pick her up hopefully on Thursday!

I think she'll be doing a lot of this for a few days after surgery.

I think she’ll be doing a lot of this for a few days after surgery.

On a similar note, I just received an email from Cindy’s (now Nellie) forever mom who said that Nellie was successfully spayed early last week. I knew she was scheduled for the surgery so I was very glad to get the email saying it had been a success. It apparently wasn’t an easy surgery as she had lots and lots of scarring from all the C-sections she had, but she’s trooper; she’d have to be to endure what she did and still be with us today!

Sweet Cindy waiting at the vet with me last spring.

Sweet Cindy waiting at the vet.

And finally, we may have turned a corner on housetraining Snowy. I don’t know if it’s because I very (very) firmly yelled at her last week when she made a mess or whether it’s because her UTI is under control or because the anti-anxiety diffuser I bought is working, but she has been accident-free for five of the last six days. Yes, I did just jinx it but I do think this is the longest she’s gone without any form of accident, day or night. The timing couldn’t be better, either, as she’ll be ready for adoption in the very near future.

Our newly housetrained dog??

Our newly housetrained dog??

And on that note, excuse me while I sob into my pillow.

2 thoughts on “Some Updates

Leave a Reply

