A Long but Successful Day

This morning at 6 a.m., Snowy and I left our apartment and made the 90-minute drive to State College so she could have her entropian and spay surgeries.

Listening to all the sounds outside the room.

Listening to all the sounds outside the room.

We arrived, got Snowy checked in and met with the surgeon.

She inspected every. single. corner of the room.

She inspected every. single. corner of the room.

He said he would do both surgeries but opted not to do the distichia (small little fuzzy hairs on her upper eye lids). His office does not have the laser technology needed to permanently eliminate those hairs; if he plucked them out, they’d just grow back again so it would have been pointless.

Naked and ready for surgery!

Naked and ready for surgery!

And just like that, they took her back and I was making the 90-minute drive back home.

Less than two hours after I got home the vet’s office called and said Snowy was out of surgery, everything was successful and I could pick her up anytime around 4. So at 2:30, I hopped back in the car and made the 90-minute drive to pick her up.

Let me tell you, she was not happy with me. When they tried to walk her out to the lobby she simply laid/squatted down and refused to move. Nothing I could do would make her move; she literally would not walk a single step. So, the vet tech had to carry her out to my car. So embarrassing.

Conehead.

Conehead.

When we got home I noticed that her right eye incision was bleeding. I couldn’t tell if she’d popped a stitch so I called my vet here and they said they’d take a look at her. Fortunately she didn’t pop a stitch but she is still bleeding which makes me nervous, but if all the stitches are in place then the bleeding has to stop at some point!

She is now on five different medications (three for her eyes, one for pain and an antibiotic to clear up her UTI). Phew! Right now she’s doing the whole “head bob/sleeping sitting up” bit but I’m hoping she’ll give and finally lie down and crash until it’s time for one last potty break tonight.

One thought on “A Long but Successful Day

  1. Glad to hear everything that could happen did happen, and went well. Snowy will forget and forgive – she doesn’t have the big vision that you do!

Leave a Reply

