The News No One Wants to Get

I’ve been dreading writing this post. I took Snowy back to the vet on Jan. 30 to get her stitches out and to re-check her UTI, which I had a sneaking suspicion had come back. Well, the recurrence of the UTI ended up being the least significant news we were about to get.

The unofficial meeter and greeter of the waiting room.

The unofficial meeter and greeter of the waiting room.

Snowy almost definitely has cancer.

"Cancer? Tell that vet I feel fine!!"

“Cancer? Tell that vet I feel fine!!”

She has tumors in her bladder and while the vet will not 100% commit to the diagnosis of cancer, she has explained to me that almost every instance of tumors in a bladder is cancer. In essence, she is treating this as cancer until we find out otherwise. For a change, I’m not being pessimistic here – our vet feels quite strongly that we’re dealing with cancer and based on her seriousness in relaying the results to me, it’s apparent she’s quite concerned.

Snowy was only concerned with the noises outside the exam room door.

Snowy was only concerned with the noises outside the exam room door.

The one piece of good news we had was that Snowy’s chest xrays on Friday were clear, meaning the cancer has not spread to her chest (the first place cancer usually spreads, or so I was told).

Next week, Snowy will go to the same surgeon who operated on Lucy to get the tumors removed. After the tumors are biopsied, we will determine the next step if it is confirmed she does indeed have cancer. If Snowy has cancer, there may be no way to permanently “cure” her; radiation pills may simply prolong her life, not cure her of cancer. But I’m hoping that’s a worst-case scenario and we can do more than prolong her life.

"You are NOT putting that cone back on me!"

“You are NOT putting that cone back on me!”

There are too many unknowns to go into a lot of detail about what-ifs and her life post-operation, including adoption. Honestly, while I’m dreading another surgery, next Friday and the subsequent biopsy results cannot come quickly enough.

This is going to be a costly surgery (several thousand dollars) and so I’m going to make a shameless plug that S.N.O.R.T. will gladly accept any donations towards Snowy’s surgery. You can donate via Paypal and make a notation that your donation is for Snowy.

Off to snuggle with my girls.

20140130_203905

Leave a Reply

