Money, Money, Money*

I mentioned it in a post earlier this week, but I’m going to be working with Ashley of Saving Money in your Twenties to try and get my budget in order. There are a lot of reasons I want to do this and why now is the perfect time.

I’m about breaking even right now given that I’m paying for grad school out of pocket and my job isn’t exactly lucrative, but I want to do more than break even. Especially since I hope to be done with grad school by the end of the summer and it would be nice to have some positive habits already in place by then.

It’s also no secret that I’d love to add another dog. It’s not practical for a number of reasons: mainly because our apartment is small and because of finances. There are a lot of things I should be saving for – my savings account, IRA, a future house I might own by the time I’m oh, 50, etc. – and while a second dog would be nice, it’s not the necessity that saving money is.

1338320132574_5657390
(photo credit)

However, I’m hoping that by getting my finances in order a second dog might be an option down the road. I don’t think I need a massive overhaul in my spending habits (although maybe I do!) but an outside opinion and advice will certainly be helpful. I may find that what I think is “normal” spending is actually too high or there are obvious areas in which I can cut down.

Given that my job is emotionally draining, especially this time of the year, it’s very easy to find myself buying things to make me “feel better;” a coffee more than a few days a week before work, a soda from the vending machine. Those are the small things I’ve thought about cutting out but honestly didn’t think they would make that big of a difference; Ashley might tell me otherwise.

What I will be spending money on this weekend, though, is gas when I make an hour drive to pick up Buddy on Sunday!

Buddy!

Buddy!

*Blog title inspired by Abba. No, I have no shame that I love Abba. I may even own the Mama Mia soundtrack…

One thought on “Money, Money, Money*

  1. Pingback: Grownup Stuff | Lucy the English Bulldog

Leave a Reply

