Pee-Gate

I figured Lucy would learn after the first time, but nope.

"You saying I'm slow?"

“You saying I’m slow?”

The first week we brought Buddy home he peed on Lucy’s leg. Now, it wasn’t intentional; he just had a spot he decided he must pee on and Lucy didn’t get out of the way fast enough. The sad part? She didn’t even notice. I was more upset than she was (only because I had to clean up a pee-covered leg; it wasn’t Buddy’s fault!).

Well, late last week Buddy struck again, this time in Lucy’s face.

"What? When you gotta go, you gotta go!"

“What? When you gotta go, you gotta go!”

I swear you would have thought Buddy peed acid on her face given Lucy’s reaction; we were less than halfway through our walk and Lucy spent the rest of the walk finding spots in random yards to roll around in the grass. Then she came back home and literally burrowed herself under her blanket, something she never does on her own (sometimes we wrap her up like a burrito just for kicks). I cleaned her face with baby wipes but for at least two hours she wasn’t her “normal” self (“normal” in quotation marks because she is anything but normal on a good day).

I adore Lucy, but she’s not the sharpest tool in the shed. Buddy is a male dog and she has watched him routinely mark on our walks; she just didn’t get out of the way in time!

The good news is things are still going well with Buddy and Lucy.

lucy_buddy

I’m just waiting on xrays from Buddy’s previous vet (and the xrays on their way!) for my vet to take a look at and make sure his trachea really isn’t bad enough to warrant surgery. I really don’t think it is based on what I’ve observed so far. He is a legitimate speedwalker; I can barely keep up with him at times! His little feet fly around our neighborhood without a single coughing attack! It may take some more monitoring in extreme temperatures but so far it’s more than manageable.

Assuming his xrays look good, we’ll schedule his neuter and dental surgeries.

I’m really anxious to get his dental surgery done and not just because his breath is…ripe. It’s because given the condition of his teeth they have to be bothering him but he eats his food just fine and even chews on some of the bones we have laying around the house; I can’t wait to see what he’s like when his teeth aren’t causing him pain anymore.

Now, off to snuggle with Pee Face and Stank Breath.

Leave a Reply

