I May Regret This

For a bunch of reasons, I had to pack up both dogs to travel to my parents’ house in New Jersey for a combined work/Mother’s Day trip. Our lacrosse team is playing at TCNJ in a NCAA Tournament game and normally when I combine work/personal travel I don’t like to bring the dogs but I didn’t have much of a choice this time as Marty has a meet in Virginia today (Friday) and a wedding in Princeton on Saturday.

So, since the dogs obviously couldn’t be left on their own while Marty and I both traveled, they made the trip to N.J. Whether we all survive to make the trip back to PA remains in question.

"I know you're writing about me."

“I know you’re writing about me.”

I’ve been spoiled; Lucy, Cindy and Snowy were all wonderful travelers. Literally not a peep out of any of them. Buddy, not so much. I had to put him in a crate in my car because otherwise he’d spend the 2 1/2 hour drive trying to make his way onto my lap. Not exactly safe. He wasn’t a fan (at all) of being crated so every 20 minutes or so he voiced his displeasure.

But, we made it.

"Did he really have to come?"

“Did he really have to come?”

So far the biggest challenges will be keeping Buddy off the couch and from waking up the entire house at 3 a.m. when he’s bored and barking.

"I'm so cute, though."

“I’m so cute, though.”

My mom and I took the dogs on a very long walk this afternoon in hopes of tiring them out. The walk seems to have only exhausted an out-of-shape Lucy, though.

"Just try and make me take another walk."

“Just try and make me take another walk.”

As long as we get through tonight with no early wake-up calls from Buddy I think the trip will go fine. My parents will have to watch the doggies while I’m at the lacrosse game for most of the day tomorrow but Buddy has fallen in love with my mom so hopefully all four (Lucy, Buddy and my parents) survive until I’m back from the game.

Wish us luck!

One thought on “I May Regret This

Leave a Reply

