We Survived

Lucy, Buddy, myself and my parents all survived our road trip to New Jersey this past weekend! I left Pennsylvania around lunchtime on Friday and arrived at my parents’ house around mid-afternoon.

The doggies got to spend plenty of time with my parents and brother while we were there. My mom adored Buddy and for the most part he was an excellent house guest; no 3 a.m. wake-up calls and plenty of walks.

Buddy's sexy pose.

Buddy’s sexy pose.

On Saturday morning, I left around 11 a.m. for our 3 p.m. women’s lacrosse game at TCNJ. The game should have been about 90 minutes long and I figured I’d be home between 6:30 and 7. Hahaha. Wishful thinking. We had two weather delays totaling 90 minutes and I didn’t get home until 8 p.m. That meant my parents had to watch both dogs for nine hours but I’m happy to say the dogs did great! No issues at all.

Sunday morning I got up, worked out, my mom and I walked the dogs, she opened her Mother’s Day gifts and then I packed up the car to head back home.

While Buddy protested his confinement to the cage again, I could tell both doggies were tired. I don’t think Lucy moved from the minute we got home until dinner time and she was still tired this morning. Buddy was only slightly less energetic than normal 🙂

Lucy for the past 24 hours.

Lucy for the past 24 hours.

All in all, a great trip. My parents got to meet Buddy and while my mom decided she’d adopt Buddy in a heartbeat, my dad…not so much. Even though Buddy took a particular liking to my dad, I think that’s because of the bits of tuna fish and London broil he was snuck 😉

The only reason I couldn’t convince my dad to adopt Buddy is because my parents aren’t really 100% serious at this point in adopting a dog but Buddy was a perfect gentleman this weekend. My dad had him off-leash while he was doing yard work and Buddy showed zero inclination to wander further than he should have. He really just wants to be near people and I’m very anxious to find his forever home.

Watching TV...no, really.

Watching TV…no, really.

While it was quite the production to travel by myself with two dogs it ended up being a wonderful weekend!

One thought on “We Survived

  1. Pingback: A Weekend with the Grandparents’” | Lucy the English Bulldog

Leave a Reply

