We’re Exhausted

Phew. What an incredibly fun and incredibly long weekend. As previously mentioned, we left Pennsylvania on Thursday evening for Marty’s triathlon and returned Monday afternoon. We left Lucy and Buddy with my parents which was a bigger help than I can say. Not having to worry about the dogs while we were at Marty’s race made the weekend more relaxing than it otherwise would have been!

Squished

Squished

From what my parents said, the dogs were great. I knew Lucy would be – she knows the rules of my parents’ house (i.e. no couch!) and is always really well behaved. And Buddy was, too. I’m told he and my mom took a LOT of walks!

"Buddy can take all the walks he wants. Leave me out of it."

“Buddy can take all the walks he wants. Leave me out of it.”

Marty raced Ironman 70.3 Eagleman – that would be a 1.2-mile swim, 56-mile bike and a 13.1-mile half-marathon (another reason it’s tough to bring the dogs – it’s a really, really, really long day). While Marty will be the first to tell you he’s not happy with the results, I’m allowed to brag regardless of how he thinks he did; what he puts his body through for months leading up these big races is ridiculous and Sunday’s conditions were less than ideal (it was hot to say the least).

Heading out for a little half marathon after 57.2 miles of biking and swimming.

Heading out for a little half marathon after 57.2 miles of biking and swimming.

While not as stressful as racing, spectating is still really stressful. At this race, the bike and run courses were single loops so I only saw Marty as he was heading out for each – I had no idea what was going on while he was actually on the course which makes me nervous and stressed; add to that the fact that I was on my own with no one to talk to and it makes for a long day!

So, while Marty may not have been satisfied, as always I was just happy he crossed the finish in one piece!

About to cross the finish.

About to cross the finish.

One of Marty’s teammates has a bulldog; while he didn’t bring his bullie to the race, either, we’re hoping for a bullie playdate at a future race! Of course we talked bulldogs after the race and shared the countless photos we all had on our phones. 🙂

Now it’s time for Lucy and Buddy to recover from a long weekend of travel and fun with my parents!

Leave a Reply

