Very Thankful

What a great week of vacation! Marty’s family rented a house in the Poconos and it was the perfect mix of active and relaxing, which is exactly what Marty and I want from any vacation.
IMG_0232

IMG_0246

IMG_0249

Yes, there were three decks!

Yes, there were three decks!

As always, we are very thankful that Marty’s parents’ invite us every year. Since we live a good 3 1/2 hours from his family in South Jersey, we really only see them 3-4 times a year so being able to spend a full week with them is something we’re really glad we’re able to do.

And the reason we’re able to spend a full week is because of the generosity of my parents. They are willing to watch Lucy for the entire week which is A: heaven for Lucy and B: saves us a ton of money by not having to kennel her.

"Yeah, I think I'll just stay with Grandma and Grandpa, thanks."

“Yeah, I think I’ll just stay with Grandma and Grandpa, thanks.”

In addition, most kennels require a kennel cough vaccine and Lucy does not have that vaccination. The kennel cough vaccine is controversial for short-nosed dogs; there is research that shows it can dangerous for short-nosed doggies like Lucy so I’ve avoided giving it to her since we’ve never run into a time when the kennel has been our only option.

So, while last Friday I had to drive 75 minutes past our vacation home to drop Lucy off and then drive 75 minutes back to the vacation home and then drive a combined 3 1/2 hours one week later to pick her up and head home, it was worth it. Lucy was happy and Marty and I were able to enjoy a full week of vacation.

I really don’t think Lucy wanted to come back home with me, though.

Refusing eye contact for making her leave.

Refusing eye contact for making her leave.

Ever since my mother’s stroke over three years ago, she can’t work, which means she’s home almost all day, i.e. Lucy’s version of heaven. She adores my mother and was spoiled by having someone home to lavish her with attention all day. Oh well, all vacations (for humans and dogs) have to come to an end at some point!

Leave a Reply

