An Unexpected Benefit

This past Christmas my dad got me a Fitbit. It’s not something I would have bought for myself but I am absolutely in love with it. I’m an active person but I also have a job where I sit at my desk on the days we don’t have any home games. Thus, most days my morning workout accounted for the majority of my daily activity.

My Fitbit with a side of dogs.

My Fitbit with a side of dogs.

“They” say you should strive for 10,000 steps a day and on the days I wasn’t running (and I only run three days a week), reaching those 10,000 steps was harder than I thought it would be. So, I added in a daily walk, sometimes with Lucy, usually without (she still protests walks of any length).

Another feature with Fitbit is that you can become “friends” with other Fitbit users which sparks some friendly competition. I try not to go nuts with my steps but as someone who is (forever) recovering from an eating disorder and exercise addiction, sometimes it’s hard not to become obsessed with numbers.

However, since getting Isaac I’ve been getting steps in not for the sake of exercise but for the sake of sanity! The more tired Isaac is the less he harasses Lucy which is a win-win. Therefore we go for a LOT of walks each day and as a result, my steps have sky-rocketed. I must say it’s been nice to get out for walks for purposes other than racking up steps and seeing Isaac so happy – he’s definitely a walker – has been fabulous.

"Come on, Mom, let's walk!"

“Come on, Mom, let’s walk!”

I don’t know how long we’ll have Isaac so I’ll take full advantage of the extra activity while I can!

On the move.

On the move.

Leave a Reply

