A No-Update Update

The title of this post really says it all. There aren’t updates of any significance to report. Isaac is still with us and still being Isaac, meaning we spend walks dodging other dogs (and apparently tall black men…he flipped out today on our morning walk. Although maybe he was just protecting me and he’s not really a racist since we were walking down a side street at 6:45 a.m. in the semi-dark – by the way, I’m being sarcastic).

"Just protecting my only source of food!"

“Just protecting my only source of food!”

Anyway, I digress. We’re certainly trying our hardest to find him a home with the “we” being myself and S.N.O.R.T. He’s the group’s featured foster this month so I’m hoping we generate more apps which will only increase our odds of finding him the perfect home.

It’s hard not to discouraged because of the big factors working against him: his age and his incompatibility with other dogs. However, when I look back to our first foster, Cindy (now Nellie), I know Isaac can find his perfect home. Nellie was not young, either, had just gotten over heartworm and lyme treatment, had (has) bad joints and was not spayed. She was a puppy mill survivor who had all the odds stacked against her; a lifetime of abuse and neglect didn’t lend themselves to a long, happy life for her. But we were patient and she found a better home than I could have dreamed and is thriving.

Oh man, I miss her.

Oh man, I miss her.

Lucy, meanwhile, is still putting up with Isaac’s bouts of completely unwanted affection. She’s being a trooper, that’s for sure, but we definitely need to find Isaac a forever home soon so Lucy can go back to peace and quiet, at least until we foster again. 🙂

I was able to take her with me to my Crossfit box last Friday for a nutrition lecture (for humans, not dogs!). It was an informal event and because all I do is talk about my dogs, everyone there knows about Lucy anyway so she was made more than welcome! She was hilarious with her butt-wiggling, bone-chewing and general cuteness 🙂 I’m trying to take her more places by herself so she can get away from Isaac on occasion!

Crossfit doggie!

Crossfit doggie!

At this point, it sure looks like we’ll still have two dogs for the holidays, or at least for Thanksgiving, which means it will take a great deal of planning to make that trip feasible and not a complete disaster.

Leave a Reply

