It’s That Time of Year Again

I LOVE the holidays. Love them. I love them as much now as I did when I was a kid, albeit in different ways now that I’m an adult (even if I don’t feel like one). One of the only pitfalls is holiday travel. Even without adding dogs into the mix, the travel isn’t easy. It’s two-and-a-half hours from here to to my parents’ house, anywhere from three-and-a-half to four hours from here to Marty’s parents’ house and it’s a good two-and-a-half hours from my parents’ house to Marty’s parents’ house.

Got that?

No matter where we spend Thanksgiving and Christmas Days, we always make sure to visit both families over the course of each holiday weekend. For the first two years it was just Marty and me or just Marty, me and Lucy. Since last year, it’s been Marty, me, Lucy and whatever foster dog we currently have! Last year it was Snowy (now Violet):

Relaxing during Christmas in South Jersey.

Relaxing during Christmas in South Jersey.

The logistics aren’t easy because we have to pack ourselves, dogs, gifts, dog supplies and Marty’s bike (heaven forbid he not travel with his bike). Last year was stressful because Snowy was still only partially housetrained and I was petrified we’d be cleaning up messes left and right. The actual car ride, though, could not have gone better.

They loved each other so much.

They loved each other so much.

And she never even had one accident so it was a highly successful trip!

This year, we have Isaac…

Hi!

Hi!

For those who don’t watch or appreciate Modern Family, this is how I envision a three-hour car ride with Lucy and Isaac would go, only inside the car, not on the roof:

modern family
(source)

One solution? I drive a CR-V so we could put him the back but I don’t think would go over well because I don’t think he’d take kindly – to put it mildly – to being separated from everyone.

So, we’ll be taking two cars to drive to the same exact places. And then I’ll spend Thanksgiving (and potentially Christmas if we still have the big lug) as one ball of stress as I try to stop Isaac from humping Lucy every chance he gets.

Fun times, for sure.

Leave a Reply

