Thursday Thoughts

1. I never play the lottery. As in, I’ve bought maybe three scratch-off tickets for myself since I turned 18. Lately, though, Marty has convinced me we should play MegaMillions and/or Powerball. We don’t play a lot, just when the jackpot is insanely high, so maybe three times in the past six months? (Don’t worry, Ashley, not throwing away large chunks of money on a losing proposition!). But it sparks the cliched conversation of “what would you do if we won?”

For me it’s insanely easy. I would quit my job, buy a big home with a huge fenced-in yard and foster (and likely adopt) lots and lots of dogs. I’d up my volunteer efforts with rescue groups, too, because I’d have all this free time on my hands 🙂
purple_4_1024x1024
(source)

2. I think it’s time to invest in some leash training with Isaac. He loves walks and I love going for walks with him…for the most part. Lately there has been a dramatic increase in feral cats all over our neighborhood, even in our own backyard and even in the dead of winter. And for some reason Isaac loves, loves, loves him some cat poop. Dog poop he passes right by; cat poop? To him it’s like caviar.

I’ve become sort of an expert on all the places there is cat poop on our walking routes. Unfortunately, Isaac has also become an expert and because he is strong (an understatement, for sure), I spend the majority of my walks literally dragging him away from cat poo piles. It’s not good for my arms/shoulders and it’s not exactly a fun way to walk for either of us. Lucy and I did a lot of leash training in puppy class. It hasn’t exactly paid off because for the most part she boycotts walks, but I still learned a lot that I’m going to try and put into use with Isaac.

"Yeah, you just try to train me."

“Yeah, you just try to train me.”

To me it’s clear that it is far easier to train a puppy than an adult dog, though. While Isaac picked up “sit,” “stay,” “down,” etc. very quickly, he definitely takes his sweet time following those commands. For instance, I know he knows “down” but he’ll try to get away with sitting and leaning forward for his treat or bobbing his head downward instead actually putting his body on the floor. Not exactly the way it’s supposed to work and he knows that.

So, my expectations are low that Isaac will actually choose to learn how to walk on a leash but it’s worth a try!

3. Everyone’s heard of chipmunking food, right?
chipmunking(source)

Well, Lucy doesn’t chipmunk food, although I’m sure she would if given enough food. But she does chipmunk snow. It is the funniest thing ever. She puts snowball-sized clumps of snow in her mouth then looks at me with puffy cheeks as if it were completely normal to shove snow in her face. And she inevitably gets a snow beard, which is hilariously cute.
snowbeard

(Lucy’s snow is real 🙂 )
(source)

At least she’s hydrated.

4. My best friend just had a baby! As in, less than 24 hours ago. And I get to visit the new addition this weekend!! Because I work in athletics, weekends generally mean nothing to me. However, it just so happens that both our basketball teams are on the road this weekend and we’re only hosting a swim meet that my intern and student workers are more than capable of covering. So on Friday night I’m hitting the road sans doggies (!) to spend some quality time in New Jersey. It’s honestly the last weekend until maybe spring break that I’ll have the luxury of traveling anywhere for pleasure so I’m taking full advantage. Quality time in New Jersey with family, friends and a cuddly baby? Sign me up.

5. Related to the above topic, I’m at the age where friends, acquaintances, co-workers, people I stalk on Facebook, etc., are having babies, want to have babies, want to have another baby, etc.

I just want another puppy. Really. It’s no secret that I am completely up in the air about whether I want to have children one day or not. Everyone tells me (and it irks me to no end), “trust me, you’ll want kids.” And how would they know that when I don’t! A lot of women do know, one or the other. But I’m not one of those women.

Don’t get me wrong, I adore babies. And kids. I am genuinely giddy to visit the new baby this weekend. But ask if me if that’s what I want now or five years down the road and I truly can’t give you an answer.

The only thing I can give you an answer to? I WANT ANOTHER PUPPY.

Yes, I want to go through the puppy stage all over again. And then again.

Yes, I want to go through the puppy stage all over again. And then again.

Lucy’s aunt is having puppies any day now (Lucy’s breeder emailed me other day to tell me) and I want all the puppies in the world. I won’t actually succumb to that desire because I’d like to save money and because getting another puppy would completely eliminate my ability to foster. There’s no way we squeeze three dogs into our apartment! And as I told Marty, dogs need foster homes more than I need another puppy. But man do I want another one.

6. Still no forever home for Isaac 😦 It’s getting hard for a lot of reasons, one of which being that I just absolutely love him more the longer we have him.

There is no denying it’s difficult caring for two dogs that do not get along (although Isaac begs to differ, Lucy doesn’t share the belief that aggressive humping is “getting along”). But every day he just makes me love him more. From the way he rests his head on my lap while I’m on the couch to the way he runs from room to room in pure joy when I come home from work.

Absolutely impossible not to love this squish.

Absolutely impossible not to love this squish.

Even this morning he shocked me by coming upstairs while I was getting ready for work and just laid at my feet – he never does that! Marty tells me he also stares into the kitchen every morning waiting for me to get home from CrossFit. He really is an awesome dog. No, he doesn’t get along with other household pets but in every other way he is more than the perfect family dog. And I hope I have his energy when I reach his age (by human years he’s almost 64!).

Leave a Reply

