When Life Gets in the Way

Let’s face it, this is a pretty superficial blog. I don’t dive into anything serious, life-changing, thought-provoking, etc. I mean, I hope people enjoy it for what it is – a dog blog. I love my dogs and I love to write. But the mindset behind just about every post I write is generally, “how does this topic relate to my dogs?” Even personal posts, if you can call them that, tie back to the dogs because, well, it’s a dog blog, not a diary.

Sure, every once in a while I dive into personal stuff but even then it’s not really about me. It’s about events that happen.

You may have noticed that for the past few weeks the blog has been relatively quiet; part of it because work is insanely busy; part of it is because there isn’t anything of note related to the dogs to write about. I took Lucy to Petsmart last night to get her nails ground down – not exactly good blog fodder, wouldn’t you agree?

But a big part is that I have a life going on outside of this blog which, at times, affects my motivation to write. While I’m contradicting my previous statement about not writing about anything personal, I think I’ve mentioned before that I’ve struggled with an eating disorder and depression/anxiety for a good part of the last 10 years. Through a lot of work I’ve been able to (mostly) get past the eating disorder (and CrossFit has had a TON to do with that). But the funny thing about depression is that, even if on medication, just when you think you have it under control, it rears its ugly head.

A small part of me hesitates to put this out there; depression has such a stigma but I’m also beyond that. If people have a stigma against it, that’s their problem.

Anyway, obviously I’m implying the past few weeks have been one of those down times. There have been issues in my personal life (not related to work) which have forced this most recent bout of depression. There was serious thought to a complete upheaval of my current situation (again, not work related) but I made the decision to seek help to get through this most recent down time and then reevaluate when I’m in a better frame of mind.

Fortunately, my dogs always put a smile on my face and in a few weeks, once the spring semester is over, there will be a lot more time to spend with them!
1506412_10100751296223279_921427081192560280_n11156158_10100753876382619_4979292186525591087_n

Leave a Reply

