Happy (?) Ten Months

Two days ago marked 10 months of fostering Isaac.

"Ten months already? Time is flying by!"

“Ten months already? Time is flying by!”

When we first got Isaac I never imagined we’d have him for 10 months but I was also unaware of the myriad of behavior problems we were taking on. Once I realized we had some issues to deal with, I knew we were in for the long haul. I didn’t think the long haul would be 10 months but here we are.

When I really sit down and think about it, I feel horrendous that 10 months (and still going…) of Lucy’s life have been spent with a dog that she not only dislikes, but is semi-fearful of. For the 10 days Isaac was adopted Lucy was a different, i.e. happier, dog.

"Woe is me."

“Woe is me.”

We’ve definitely got a new “normal” with Isaac around and Lucy is coping just fine. But I do desperately want her to be as happy as she was B.I. (Before Isaac). Unfortunately, Isaac is going to be very difficult to find an adopter as he’ll be nine in August. A nine-year-old bulldog isn’t exactly in high demand. Especially one who needs to be an only dog and has, um, aggression issues toward other dogs.

How can anyone not want this handsome face?

How can anyone not want this handsome face?

But that’s the negative stuff. And I don’t want that to overshadow the fact that I freaking love this dog. He’s funny, healthy, active, handsome. His eyes kill me – they’re just so sweet. They’re so sweet I don’t mind when he comes over to my side of the bed at 5:30 on a Saturday morning, rests his head on the bed and stares at me (all while breathing heavily) until I wake up. Somehow it’s not as endearing when Marty does that.

I love our walks, just the two of us. Granted, they’re sometimes stressful when we run into other dogs, but for the most part it’s a great way to relax and I swear it kept me sane this past year.

I love how his nubbin shakes so hard when we come home, when we talk to him, even when we just look at him. He’s one happy dog with us.

I love how he stares at me while I’m using my computer; I don’t quite know what he wants, but it’s adorable.

"I'm always watching."

“I’m always watching.”

The unfortunate part of the whole thing is that Isaac would make an absolutely perfect only dog. He’s house trained, is fine being on his own during the day (although obviously he loves it better when we’re home), is HEALTHY, active and quite simply, adores his people. Once he realizes he’s “yours,” you could not ask for a better dog.

Well, here’s to hoping that for Isaac’s sake (and Lucy’s!), I’m not writing a post in 10 more months celebrating 20 months of life with Isaac.

Leave a Reply

