A Step Backwards

As I’ve explained, Snowy came to us after having already been fostered for the past month and we were told she came us fully housetrained.

I don’t doubt that statement but this past week, Snowy undoubtedly took a step (or two) backwards in the housetraining department!

"Housetrained or not, I'm still cute!"

“Housetrained or not, I’m still cute!”

Several times last week I either came home or came downstairs to poop on the floor; once Snowy pooped twice on the floor in one morning! She also peed on her bed twice and even peed on the couch. I was beyond aggravated; because she only pees maybe 2-3 times a day and poops far less than that, it’s very hard to pick up on the signs of when she has to go.

On Wednesday night, she woke Marty and me up at 3:30 a.m. with her barking; we let her out, she peed and then walked back inside. At 6 a.m., we came downstairs to poop on the floor. Ugh.

All the events of last week prompted me to do this:

The Crate

The Crate

Yup, I had to lug the massive crate back upstairs and into the kitchen. I cannot emphasize enough how much I did not want to crate Snowy but I also A: did not want to continue cleaning up pee and poop and B: want to make sure she is 100% housetrained for her future forever family.

Unfortunately, Snowy appears to be an escape artist and can unlock the crate door all by herself but she also hasn’t had an accident in the house in several days. I really think she was (and probably still is) going through an adjustment period; it’s been quite an eventful few months for her.

On a totally different note, she got a care package from S.N.O.R.T. full of lots of goodies!

IMG_0621

Snowy is one loved doggie!